Nurse Practitioner Subspecialties:

Acute Care:
This is an area of secondary health care in which a patient gets active but short-term treatment for a serious injury or illness. Acute Care is the opposite of chronic care. This type of care is often delivered by teams of health care professionals working together.
Adult Health:
Numerous physical, emotional, mental and social factors affect adult health. Social factors such as income, education and race directly affect the adult health population. Physical factors affecting health are illness, diet, exercise, genetic inheritance, alcohol and smoking.
Community Health:
Community health is a public health field. It's a discipline concerned with studying and bettering the health characteristic of communities. If tends to focus on geographical areas. This requires the collective effort of numerous health care professionals and organizations in order to be successful.
Critical Care Medicine Nurse Practitioner:
Critical Care Medicine is also known as Intensive-Care Medicine. It is focused with the provision of life support or various organ support systems in patients that are very ill and require constant monitoring. Critical Care is only offered to patients that have a good change of reversing their condition.
Family Nurse Practitioner:
Family Nurse Practitioner, is a Level III Area of Specialization. A Physician Assistant refers to a healthcare professional that is trained and fully licensed to practice the art of medicine with minimal supervision of a fully licensed physician. Advanced Practice Nursing is inclusive of either a clinical nurse specialist or a nurse practitioner.

Thanks to LabDraw, it is now possible for you to quickly find a family nurse practitioner in your area. The website is simple to use and features a convenient interface that presents information to you which is both accurate and frequently updated. You can also read the reviews of others and share your own experiences.

What is a Family Nurse Practitioner?

Nurse practitioners are clinicians who are both autonomous and licensed in preventing disease and treating patients. They are advanced practice registered nurses and as such specialize in certain types of patients, such as the elderly, women or infants. They may also operate in diverse areas such as oncology or the cardiovascular system.

The nurse practitioner was first introduced during the 1960s and since that time their role has continued to evolve. They can diagnose diseases and treatment, and will also perform evaluations on patients in order to review their medical history. They collaborate with other healthcare professionals and will routinely acquire continuous education so they can remain up to date on various new methods and changes which are occurring in the medical field. They educate, consult and perform research, making them one of the most diverse professionals in the healthcare industry.

Common Tasks Performed by Family/Nurse Practitioners

- Diagnosis and treatment of disease
- Disease prevention
- Collaboration with other healthcare professionals
- Review patient records and medical history
- Performs research and consultation
- Requests diagnostic exams

Search for a Family/Nurse Practitioner in Your Neighborhood

LabDraw is the premier online resource for finding nurse practitioners and other medical professionals near you. Millions of people search for information on this site and they post reviews which can be read by others to determine the quality of any doctor they're considering using. This information is indispensable in helping you make better decisions regarding the healthcare you receive for your family. Search Now!

Gerontology is studying social, biological, psychological and different aspects of the aging. The multidisciplinary nature of gerontology suggests there are a number of sub-fields. It is closely associated with psychology, and sociology.
Is also referred to as NICU. It is also called a Special Care Nursery, newborn intensive care unit, intensive care nursery and special baby unit. Neonatal deals with the care of ill or premature infants.
Neonatal, Critical Care:
This is a health department caring from seriously ill babies. These departments are found in children's hospitals. A team of medical health care professionals works together to offer care to these very sick babies.
Nurse Practitioner:
Is an advanced registered nurse that has finished graduate-level education. They focus on the condition of a patient, along with the affects of illness on the lives of the patients and their families. Nurse Practitioners offer work as a go-between with regards to communication between the doctor and the patient.
Obstetrics and Gynecology Nurse Practitioner:
Obstetrics and Gynecology are specialty areas of medicine in which a doctor has studied and been trained to deal with all aspects of birthing and treating specific issues of the woman's reproductive system. This includes the uterus, fallopian tubes and ovaries. Both Obstetricians and Gynecologists can perform surgical procedures. These specialty doctors are normally only available if referred to by another doctor.
Occupational Health:
Is concerned with protecting the safety, health and welfare of people that work or are employed. This term is often expanded to Occupational Heath and Safety. A specific medical area of Occupational Health is occupational medicine.
Pediatric Nurse Practitioner:
Pediatrics is the division of medicine that offers medical care to infants, children, and adolescents. A Pediatrician is a medical practitioner who specializes in this area offering medical treatment for adolescents and younger.
Pediatrics, Critical Care:
This branch of medicine is concerned with the provision of life support or organ support systems in children who are critically ill and require intensive monitoring. They may need support for hemodynamic instability or airway issues. Pediatric Critical Care is usually only offered to children whose condition is potentially reversible.
This refers to the period immediately before and after birth. It is often defined in diverse ways. Normally this period in time starts between the twentieth and twenty eighth week of gestation and ends one to four weeks after the delivery.
Primary Care:
This term is used for health services by providers that act as the focus point for consultation with patients.
Psychiatric/Mental Health:
Refers to people that suffer from mental distress or illness, such as bipolar disorder, depression, dementia, psychosis or schizophrenia. With this comes behavioral challenges, taking psychiatric medications, along with numerous psychological therapies and other therapies. Therapeutic therapy is extremely beneficial is this area of mental health.
Is an institution used from teaching students under the control of teachers. There are a multitude of schools available for study. The School Of Medicine is where a soon to be doctor would study.
Womens Health:
Refers to health issues specific to females. They often relate to the female genitalia and breasts. As well as conditions caused by hormones specific to females.